Temple Gate rectification works 12-28 May

A series of highways works are scheduled at Temple Gate from Wednesday 12 May until Friday 28 May.  Most of the works are scheduled overnight between 8pm and 6am to minimise disruption however, due to operational necessity, some works will take place during the day and diversions will be in place.

The rectification works, sometimes known as ‘snagging’, follow the completion of the Temple Gate scheme in December 2019.  

Similar to many highways schemes Eurovia, the project contractor is returning to correct several minor defects in drainage, road surfacing and bus stop infrastructure to meet the standards of their contract at no cost to the council. Eurovia will also do weather dependent high friction surfacing works originally planned for the end of the main contract that had to be postponed because the scheme was completed in the winter months.

The rectification works were originally planned for early in 2020 but have been delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The main closures are listed below, diversions will be in place for all main road closures.

Week commencing Monday 10 May:

Weds 12 May:

  • Clarence Road closed eastbound 09:30am – 2:30pm

Thursday 13 May

  • Temple Gate southbound closed between junctions of The Friary and Redcliffe Way 8.00pm-6.00am

Thursday 13 May to Thursday 20 May (including Sat 15 May and Sun 16 May):

  • Inbound lane to the Friary from Temple Way closed day and night. Temple Quay car park and Temple Way bus southbound bus stop will be accessible.

Week commencing Monday 17 May:

Monday 17 May

  • Temple Gate southbound closed between junctions of The Friary and Redcliffe Way 8.00pm-6.00am

Tuesday 18 May:

  • Inbound lane to Friary from Temple Way closed 8.00pm-6.00am. Temple Quay car park and Temple Way bus southbound bus stop will be accessible.

Friday 21 May:

  • Full closure of the Friary and Temple Way southbound bus lane. Temple Quay car park and Temple Way bus southbound bus stop will be accessible.

Week commencing Monday 24 May:

Tuesday 25 May:

  • Inbound lane from Temple Way to The Friary closed 00pm-6.00am

Wednesday 26 May:

  • Victoria Street and Victoria Street westbound bus stop (adjacent to Temple Gate development plot) closed 8.00pm-6.00am

Thursday 27 May:

  • Redcliffe Way closed between Temple Gate and Redcliffe roundabout 8.00pm-6.00am
  • Redcliffe Way bus stops closed
  • Temple Meads station approach open as usual

Friday 28 May

  • Redcliffe Way eastbound bus stop closed 00pm-6.00am

Press release by Bristol City Council.